Native American Local Government Commission

Created by Joint Resolution 9220 (City) and 02-29 (County) in March of 2002; amended by Resolution 9264 (City) and 02-78 (County) in November of 2002.

Serves as a local point-of-contact for all local City and County government departments to represent the Native American community at the City and County government meetings, functions, and events; to advise City and County governments on Native American needs, issues, forums and planning; to assist and advise in the coordinated review of the status of the local Native American community; and to serve as a clearinghouse of information on grants, employment opportunities and economic development activities for dissemination to Native American communities.

Three standing members (highest ranking Native American officer in the Great Falls Public Education system, Indian Heritage Association Director, and the Indian Family Clinic Director). Four rotating members — two appointed by the City Commission and two appointed by the County Commission.


Member Term Expires
James Parker Shield War Shield Development
Ernestine Belcourt Indian Family Clinic Director
Sandra Boham Indian Education Program Director
Joseph Allen Leggett (City appointee) December 31, 2014
Joella Bloomgren (City appointee) August 1, 2013
Stan Juneau (County appointee) December 31, 2015
Peggy Myers (County appointee) December 31, 2015











Four-year terms.

Meeting Schedule
Meets second Tuesday of each month at 5:30 p.m.

Residency Requirements
None stipulated.

For Information on the Board Contact:
Cascade County Commission at 454-6810 or the City of Great Falls at 455-8450.